Tuesday 23 May 2023

ICT Minister Hon. Timothy Masiu with Department of Information and Communication Technology Secretary Steven Matainaho and PNG Digital ICT Cluster President Winifred Kula during the signing of the MoU in Port Moresby.

The Department of Information Communication and Technology today signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the PNG Digital ICT Cluster, to support the implementation of the government’s main policy objectives on digital government and the digital economy as a whole.

Secretary  of DICT, Steven Matainaho said the MoU intends to promote closer mutual cooperation, consultation and exchange of technical assistance aligned to the digital framework, through:

The MoU  further aims to achieve and establish new benchmarks for cooperation in digital transformation in order to enhance economic opportunities.

The nation’s ICT small and medium enterprises are represented by the PNG Digital ICT Cluster.

Section 43 of the Digital Government Act  2022, states  the ICT division hub is the sole provision of the law that the Department of ICT is responsible for enforcing.

President of the PNG Digital Cluster, Winifred  Kula said being a member of the digital economy, makes this opportunity important and valuable for them as they pursue their careers as digital entrepreneurs.

Mr Matainaho  however ,commended the Minister for ICT, Hon. Timothy Masiu for setting the digital transformation agenda into policy and taking it to the floor of Parliament.

He claimed that this marks a turning point in how the government and the department interact and assist one another.

The  MoU will  further push for greater acceleration, integration and digital transformation of Papua New Guinea’s economy.

Meantime, Mr  Masiu congratulated DICT and ICT Clusters for coming up with an  agreement for cooperation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *